Farewell to the daily blog

By: Bridget Murphy

Oct 23 2011

Category: Uncategorized

1 Comment

Aperture:f/9
Focal Length:26mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:NIKON D60


I will be taking a break from the daily photo blog. It’s been a great year, but I have other things to focus my photographic intentions on. However, I will still update here as regularly as possible. I will tweet links when I post, and perhaps put up links on Facebook. Junior year is consuming my life, while photography is beginning to play a different role in my life. I will be shooting for class, and probably adding those images here. I will also continue to have “photoshoots” with willing friends and family.

I really want to thank everyone for their support, for checking the site daily, for clicking my daily link on Twitter, for subscribing and receiving annoying email updates. It means a lot to me that over 365 days this blog reached more than 14,000 views. I appreciate putting up with a daily notification, another daily distraction. I hope that it was at least enjoyable, and possibly gave a little insight into when and how I use my camera.

I’m not saying that I will never come back to a daily blog, perhaps after a week or two I will miss the “pressure” of finding a daily picture, miss the reason for going out to shoot. But, I have reason to shoot now. In a way, I’ve built my audience of family and friends and I feel that you all will still support me, even if I don’t update quite as often.

I really believe I’ve learned a lot about my own photography and grown over this year. I end with an image taken at the every beginning of my “photo career” – in Boston, over three years ago. Looking at this image, there are so many things I’d change, I’d try differently. It keeps me motivated to look at these and remember to push what I’ve done before. I will do my best to do just that.

For now, the goal is to update once a week, perhaps with a change in format or something with more explanation and multiple images. I’ll figure it out slowly as I go, so please check back in and keep me motivated!

Love,
Bee

One comment on “Farewell to the daily blog”

  1. Bee:

    Great job over the past year. It sure went by quickly.

    I admire your talent, and am proud of your dedication to the cause. I will miss the daily inspiration, but I know how busy photography is going to be keeping you this year. Go get ’em!

    Dad


Leave a Reply

